Land Acknowledgement Statement

The Byron Forest Preserve District acknowledges that we use ancestral lands of the Peoria, oθaakiiwaki‧hina‧ki (Sauk) & Meškwahki·aša·hina (Fox), Bodwéwadmi (Potawatomi), Myaamia (Miami), Očhéthi Šakówiŋ (Sioux), Hoocąk (Ho-Chunk), and the Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo) for recreation and stewardship. We recognize these People, and all other Indigenous Peoples, for their stewardship and resilience.

The Byron Forest Preserve District acknowledges our indebtedness to traditional knowledge and stewardship. We stand in solidarity with Indigenous Peoples and seek to educate about the past and present to ensure a better future for all those that occupy this land.

Please visit Native-Land.ca to learn more about the Indigenous groups that have always cherished the land we are on.