Board of Commissioners

Aaron Vincer


Steve Patterson

Vice President

Kris Baker


Chris Remhof


Dave Breen


The Byron Forest Preserve District is governed by a board of five (5) elected, non-partisan, non-compensated commissioners.  Commissioners must reside within the boundaries of the Forest Preserve and are elected at the Consolidated Election in odd-numbered years.  Pursuant to state law, commissioners are non-partisan and serve without compensation.

Election Information

To be eligible to serve, a Byron Forest Preserve Board Commissioner must be a citizen of the United States, at least 18 years old, a registered voter, and a resident of the State of Illinois and the Forest Preserve District for at least one year immediately preceding the election.  Elections are non-partisan and board candidates do not indicate a political party affiliation.  Candidates should be aware of financial conflict-of-interest limitations set forth in state law.

The District will have two (2) Commissioner Positions available for election at the April 2025 Consolidated Election.  The District Commissioners serve four (4) year terms.  Petition Packets will be available at the Jarrett Prairie Center or at the Ogle County Clerks Office/Website.  The filing period for petition packets will be in December of 2024.

For more information on how to be a candidate on the ballot at the next consolidated election, please visit the Ogle County website at or the State Board of Elections website at